Sharing a Laugh

Thank you, everyone, for putting up with my whining earlier this week. And thank you so much for all the encouragement! I’m feeling much better.

Dad and I shared a lovely day yesterday. We chatted and reminisced . . . And even when the unpleasant issues came up, we discussed them pleasantly.

Shortly before I left, Dad showed me one of those silly joke/stories that goes around . . . He had tucked it away years ago, forgot about it, and ran across it again just recently. It’s supposed to be a letter from a mom to her son who’s away in the army or something.

I laughed out loud several times while reading it. Then Dad read it again, and we laughed aloud together.

I’m sorry I don’t know who wrote it and can’t give credit where credit is due . . . But I hope you enjoy it.

Dear Son,

I’m writing this slow cause I know you can’t read fast. We don’t live where we did when you left. Your dad read in the paper where most accidents happen within twenty miles of home, so we moved. This place has a washing machine. The first day, I put four shirts in it; I pulled the chain and haven’t seen them since. It only rained twice this week. Three days the first time and four days the second time. About the coat you wanted me to send you. Your Aunt Sun said it would be a little too heavy to send in the mail with the big heavy buttons, so we cut them off and put them in the pockets. We got a bill from the funeral home, said if we didn’t make the last payment on Grandma’s funeral bill, up she comes. Your uncle Joe fell in the whiskey vat. Some men tried to pull him out but he fought them off playfully, so he drowned. We cremated him. He burned for three days. Three of your friends went off the bridge in a pickup. One was driving. The other two were in the back. The driver got out. He rolled down the window and swam to safety. The other two drowned. They couldn’t get the tailgate down. Not much more news this time. Nothing much has happened. Write more later.

                                  Love, Mom

P.S. I was going to send you some money but already had this sealed. Mom. 

 

4 responses to “Sharing a Laugh

  1. Just for the record, I don’t consider the article “Judgment comes with Job” whining. That info is a real part of any caregivers life! 🙂

    • Shawn, you’re right, of course. But it really blows the whole “emotionally strong and mature” persona I’ve been shooting for! haha.

Leave a Reply

