Moments of Joy

“”We are not able to create a perfectly wonderful day with those who have dementia, but it is absolutely attainable to create perfectly wonderful moments – moments that put smiles on their faces, a twinkle in their eyes, or trigger memories.” Jolene Brackey wrote this in Creating Moments of Joy, an upbeat and practical book that has inspires me to find little things I can do to make my dad’s days brighter.

Several months ago, I couldn’t drive down for my weekly visit and didn’t want Dad to feel abandoned. I decided to make him a card – just like when I was a little kid. (I wish I would have taken a picture, but I didn’t.) I copied and then illustrated this riddle:

Why do deer use coupons?

They like to save big bucks and lots of doe.

I’m not an “artistic” person, so it took me quite a while to make the card and have it look somewhat presentable. My husband commented that Dad probably wouldn’t appreciate all the time and effort I put into it. But my thought was, if the card made my dad smile – even if only for a moment – that was “appreciation” enough.

Apparently, Dad got a kick out of the card and showed it to everyone in his assisted living community. I was told he got several smiles out of it.

So, a few weeks later, I made another one . . . And then another.

Recently, one of the staff members asked when they could expect the next card. So, this week, I got out my paper, scissors and glue and made a new one. Here it is:

This is the front panel of the tri-fold card I made for my dad this week.

This is the front panel of the tri-fold card I made for my dad this week.

What did one snowman say to the other? "I smell carrots too." (Found this in Readers Digest last month.)

(I found the riddle in Readers Digest last month.)

I cannot give my dad his old life back, but if I can give him a moment of joy – one precious smile –  then that’s something to be grateful for.

If you have any favorite riddles, please let me know; my supply is running low.

4 responses to “Moments of Joy

  1. Q: What did the doctor give to the patient with a splitting headache?
    A: Glue!
    I’m not sure if Opa would like this, or if he would just go on a rant about how *&$#@ doctors are, but I thought it was kinda funny. 🙂

    • You’re too sweet! Thanks, Judy. But you should see what a wreck I am while I’m trying to figure out what I’m doing. 😉 I guess it’ll get easier with practice.

Leave a Reply

