Licking My Wounds

I haven’t posted anything new the past couple weeks.

It would be easy to say it was because of Christmas and everything that comes with the holidays. But actually, I was less stressed about Christmas and holiday busyness than usual this year.

No, the reason I haven’t written anything is that I’ve been feeling so beat up and worn down by all the stuff associated with my dad’s dementia.

For too many weeks, I’ve felt like I’m under attack (mostly by my dad – but also by a few other people with questionable motives) and I just needed some time to lick my wounds and recuperate for a while.

Prayer has been my refuge. I’ve also been blessed with encouragement from friends and family. And, of course, there is the new year to look forward to.

Due to the fact that I’m very much an early to bed – early to rise kind of gal, New Year’s Eve is probably my least favorite “event” of the year. I do not like staying up till midnight and having to pretend I’m having fun doing it.  😉

However, I love New Year’s Day. It’s a great big clean slate and fresh start! I know that every day offers a new beginning, but New Year’s Day just seems like a gigantic “re-set” button. And I’m really ready for a fresh start!

So, I’m excited to welcome the new year.

Dad’s dementia (and all the problems surrounding it) isn’t likely to disappear (I won’t totally write off the possibility of a miracle!), but I look forward to all that I will learn, strengthening my faith that I’m doing the best I can for my dad, and the deepening of relationships as we travel this journey together.

Wishing you a happy, healthy, hope-filled 2013!

With lots of love,

Susan

 

My dad and mom with our relatives Marie & Gerti at a roadside rest near Salzburg. I believe this was taken in 1968.

My dad and mom with our relatives Marie & Gerti at a roadside rest near Salzburg. I believe this was taken in 1968.

2 responses to “Licking My Wounds

  1. My thoughts are with anyone who has a parent or parents with dementia. My mother was diagnosed with dementia and although it wasn’t a complete shock to us, because we knew something was wrong, it rocked our worlds and it hasn’t always been easy. Ever since her diagnosis my siblings, father and I have been trying to read all we can about it and how other people are dealing with it. I just finished a great book that I’d like to recommend to anyone else going through this same ordeal; it’s called “I Will Never Forget” by Elaine C. Pereira. You can check her and the book out on her website http://elainecpereira.authorsxpress.com/. It was a really great read. Thanks for this post, and prayers for your father.

Leave a Reply

