Hear the Dementia Whisperer this Weekend

When my father’s dementia became an unavoidable fact of life, I did what I always do when faced with a unfamiliar situation; I started reading.

One of the first books I read was A Loving Approach to Dementia Care by Laura Wayman.  I’ve gone through many books since then, but “A Loving Approach” remains one of my favorites.

In the book, Wayman (who is also known as “The Dementia Whisperer”) uses stories and examples to explain how to find the source of challenging dementia behaviors and communication breakdowns. Her ideas and strategies have been invaluable in my interactions with my father.

This coming Sunday (November 18), Laura Wayman is speaking at the Alzheimer’s/Dementia Caregiver Support Group at Valley Springs Presbyterian Church, 2401 Olympus Drive, Roseville, CA.

The meeting is 10:30am till noon in the church conference room. Admission is free, but RSVPs are appreciated: debbieinouye@surewest.net.

If you can’t be there on the 18th, I highly recommend visiting  http://www.dementiawhisperers.com for helpful articles and for information about Laura Wayman’s workshops and personal consultations.

And make sure to read A Loving Approach to Dementia Care. Really, it’s an easy read but worth its weight in gold.

Now it’s your turn. What books or other resources have you found to be helpful?

 

“A Loving Approach to Dementia Care” by Laura Wayman is one of my favorites of all the books I’ve read this past year.

3 responses to “Hear the Dementia Whisperer this Weekend

    • God willing, I’ll be there. I’ve been looking forward to this for months! You know, I met with Laura Wayman privately and was so comforted by her warmth and compassion . . . But I’ve heard that her classes/ group presentations are pretty funny, and, these days, I can use all the laughter I can get!

  1. Reading your blog has stirred up some memories of my dad’s experience with dementia … although he was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

