Dementia: Travels in a Foreign Land

During the past year, dementia has unmistakably altered my father. Now, time with him is like visiting a foreign world.

There’s a whole new language to learn. Creative intervention.Sundowning. Long lists of medical and insurance (especially Medicare) terminology.

Does Berlitz have a listen-and-repeat audio program – “Speak Dementia Like a Native in 10 Minutes a Day?”

Rules and customs in the world of dementia are foreign too.

In the movie “Sweet Home Alabama,” Reese Witherspoon plays a fashion designer who, after living in New York City for many years, visits her family in Alabama. The extreme differences between the two places causes her to proclaim in exasperation, “People need a passport to come down here.”

Since January, my father has been in a facility for Alzheimer’s and dementia care. His home is only an hour and a half drive from my house, but like the Reese Witherspoon character, I feel like I need a passport to go there.

In Passport to Dementia, my desire is to share what I’m learning, to encourage others who are on a similar journey, and to make the best of this difficult journey. Thanks for joining me.

Dad was stationed in Japan while serving in the U.S Marine Corps.

3 responses to “Dementia: Travels in a Foreign Land

  1. Way to go my love! You started your blog! I am so proud of you. I can’t wait to learn all about dementia along with you.
    P.S. The blog looks great! I am really liking the theme. 🙂

  2. You made me cry at work! I am right there with you. I think we should make that learn about dementia audio and make money for their care. XO

Leave a Reply

